Moheard's Blog

Val Falla

Posted on: July 29, 2010

Noel Carrington, the editor of Country Life in the 30s, commissioned wonderful illustrations for Puffin Books from established artists, and I wanted my book to have that same feel for visual excellence. This is why I asked a friend, Val Falla if she would create the pictures for Leo’s Heroes with a whiff of 50s nostalgia. She had studied illustration at the Royal College of Art under Edward Bawden whose influence is evident in a lot of her work. I am thrilled at the connection.

See her gallery of work at http://www.val-bob-falla.org

I really, really wanted designed end papers, but alas, too expensive.

1 Response to "Val Falla"

Saw your post when browsing. Coincidentally I have just written a book on Noel Carrington, the Puffin Picture Books, autolithography and Carrington’s connections with Eric Ravilious, Edward Bawden and lithography of the late 30s and 40s. It’s published by the Penguin Collectors Society and you can find out more from their web site.
regards
Joe

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Mags: Love the photo Mo!
  • Joe Pearson: Saw your post when browsing. Coincidentally I have just written a book on Noel Carrington, the Puffin Picture Books, autolithography and Carrington's
  • Mags: Its interesting about lists.... they can be for all sorts of things other than organisation. A way of getting what is inside out! Often when I just w